Campaign Tracking, the most important step to success!
After you dive in and test your campaigns, one of the most important factors is tracking. I think you do not like spending money on things that do not work 🙂 .
Tracking is the key to your success. Don’t you use tracking ? – Then you loose money.
How Campaign Tracking Works
Let us pretend we are in PPV and understand the basic principle of tracking with the following steps:
- A user visits a page (with PPV).
- A pop-up with your campaign URL is shown to him.
- The tracking system records an impression (a view, a visit).
- The tracker automatically decides the landing page to pop to the visitor’s pc.
- The visitor’s browser loads the URL of the landing page.
- The visitor clicks on the landing page.
- Now in the visitors browser is loaded the TRACKER URL.
- A click is taken note (recorded).
- Is the tracker who decides which offer to load in the visitor’s browser.
- At this time in the browser loads the Offer URL.
- If the visitor does the required action a conversion is taken note (recorded).
- A conversion pixel is sent by the offer from the tracking system.
- The tracking solution takes note of (records) the conversion.
What to Track
We want to track :
- The performance of campaign targets (URL,keywords if we are in CPV,audience, demographics and interests if we are Facebook).
- Performance of landing pages and variations.
- The performance of the offers.
- And the time performance (some offers perform better at certain times of day. i.e. dating performs better in the evening and at weekends).
How to Track
We can track the the campaigns performance in different ways:
- Manually. i.e. using an excel spreadsheet or pen and paper.
- Using the features provided by the ad network.
- Taking advantage of free tools like Google Analytics.
- Using Simple PHP scripts.
- By using advanced solutions like: Tracking 202, CPV Lab etc…
Tracking 2o2 is free, CPV Lab is not.
Besides improving your campaign profit, the advanced solutions have a number of additional benefits:
- Offer,Landing page rotation.
- Easy to add additional variants without having to redo your ads.
- Auto optimization.
- Real time statistics.
- Trend analysis.
Conversions can be tracked either manually (looking at the reports or using the subID data), or automatically (through a post-back URL or conversion pixel).
The tracking platform automatically assigns a subID to every visitor that clicks the offer link. Then you can view the report showing conversion with their respective subID from the affiliate network you use. In this way can identify which targets, which landing pages or offers generated each conversion.
Another approach is using a conversion pixel. This is a fake image file that shows on the confirmation page after the visitor has completed the action (e.g. completing a form). The tracking platform you are using, registers the conversion for the relevant target, landing page or offer automatically.
Some affiliate networks require that your conversion pixels be on a secure server with a SSL certificate. If you have been careful, some sites load in browser with “Namecheap because they give a free certificate with clear instructions on how to setup and install this SSL certificate.I recommend you register the domain name for your tracking platform from
Some Important Concepts and Terms
You need to understand the following terms before you can set up and use the tracking solution:
- Tracking URL: a unique URL provided by your tracking platform which tracks the views or clicks.
- Rotator: cycles through multiple landing pages or offers for testing.
- SubID: a unique ID assigned to each visitor that your tracking platform collects. Your affiliate network will have reports that show the subID of each click that converts.
- Conversion pixel: a special URL provided by your tracking platform. You need to submit this URL to your affiliate network. This URL will be triggered when your visitor completes a sale.
- Impressions: The number of visitors or views to a landing page or ad.
- CTR: Click Through Rate. % = clicks / impressions X 100%. For example, if your Facebook ad got 1200 impressions and 35 clicks:
CTR = 35 / 1200 = 0.029 X 100 = 2.9%
- CR: conversion rate. % = conversions / impressions X 100% If you had 10 conversions, your impression CR would be 10 / 1200 = 0.0008 X 100 = 0.08%.